2015 Jury
Rahul Mehrotra
Green Prize Jury Chair and Chair of the Department of Urban Planning and Design, GSD
Silvia Benedito
Assistant Professor of Landscape Architecture, Harvard GSD
Jerold Kayden
Frank Backus Williams Professor of Urban Planning and Design, Harvard GSD
Toshiko Mori
Robert P. Hubbard Professor in the Practice of Architecture, Harvard GSD
Mirko Zardini
Director of the Canadian Center for Architecture
The history of the prize

The prize is awarded biennially to recognize exemplary urban design projects. Projects must be more than one building or an open space built anywhere in the world within the last ten years that makes a positive contribution to the public realm of a city and improves the quality of urban life in that context. The project must also demonstrate a humane and worthwhile direction for the design of urban environments.

“Since its inception in 1986, the Veronica Rudge Green Prize in Urban Design has become an important aspect of our School's life. It is in fact one of the few opportunities we have left, institutionally speaking, to pause for a moment and take a good hard look at what's
going on out there in the world, to take stock of how problems of urban design are being formulated and tackled, and what practices seem to be more successful than others. In a corollary fashion, the prize also allows the School to define itself, especially with respect to those essential values it holds dear.”

— Peter G. Rowe, Raymond Garbe Professor of Architecture and Urban Design and Harvard University Distinguished Service Professor